My Constant Nagging Thought

Why do we sometimes try to please other people beyond our physical and emotional means? Do we want to be accepted by others all the time? Whats wrong if we are not? Do we need to be constantly validated? Be it our jobs, our marriage, our goals and aspirations, our health and our whole life, we tend to do stuff because our parents, or friends , or society expects us to. I detest that. Yes, I agree we do get some great advice and suggestions from others and it is sensible to get input from people at times for an outside perspective, but making a decision solely based on that or to please anyone else but you, isnt worth it.

I myself am very opinionated and headstrong and see nothing wrong with sticking to what I believe in as my principles. I have very many people around me who can’t seem to digest that or live with that. Well it’s just too bad, is all I have to say.

Now as I am moving into my late 20’s, I am learning that I don’t have to justify myself to anyone else but me and who I choose to, and if somethings that I do are not acceptable by all, then so be it. Its me being in peace with myself that matters the most.

I was recently discussing this with someone and we were talking about how it is an absolute blessing to first figure out who you are, what you want in life and what your passionate about. But more than just identifying your passion, its a bigger blessing if you can actually drop or change your current life to actually pursue this passion not caring what any one else thinks. Its your life, your happiness and passion that matters at the end of the day. You can do whatever you choose to do irrespective of whether it makes you money, it makes you famous, it makes someone else happy or of its the society norm. All of that is irrelevant and minuscule compared to doing whatever allows you to sleep in peace at night and most importantly something you cannot wait to wake up the next day an do all over again.

But not everyone has that luxury or guts. You need the resources, the right time in life and just plain guts to take that risk and be willing to lose it all in that pursuit of your passion. Even more of a blessing is when you take that risk and it pays off. Where the time is right, you have fought the fight, passed the hurdles and managed to stay afloat through the roughest of times and finally succeeded in making a life doing something you are 100% happy, satisfied and passionate about. That is Nirvana. That I am hoping to attain one day.

I will be lying if I said that I don’t have the time or money or resources to do it. Well right now I may not, but even if I do have all of it, I don’t think I have the guts to risk it all. I am hesitant to risk it all, scared of change and the consequences. I accept. But I am hopeful that one day I will be able to break out of this fear of consequences and judgement.

I am not an ingrate, I am very blessed right now with what I have. I am happy with my life now. But am I pursuing my passion? Not really. I am now doing what needs to be done to bring me partial satisfaction and happiness. Not Euphoria or Nirvana. I may never be able to risk big, but I’m fine with that too as long as I find a way to be at peace with myself while doing it.

A discussion with a fellow blogger got me thinking about this whole topic (Her Blog).

2 Responses

  1. I want to know my truth😐 – i posted such a long comment, sent an offliner asking you as to what happened of it – and am left wondering what is going on😦

  2. Sorry i missed one more to mess you up more: Breaking the Waves
    http://imdb.com/title/tt0115751/

Leave a Reply

