Dreamgirls

I just got done watching this movie and all I can say is WOW! This movie is just absolutely exhausting…….in a great way. Exhilarating I should say. I would watch this movie all over again just to feel this physical, emotional exhaustion all over again ! Just pure musical ecstasy.

Jennifer Hudson and Eddie Murphy hands down sweep the whole movie away. I wonder why they were called “supporting” actors when they pretty much carry the movie all around.  With mega stars like Beyonce and Jamie Foxx, they are both easily out shined by J.Hud and Eddie. Of course, every single person in it has done a great job as well.

When I first heard about this movie, I wondered what all the buzz was about. I thought its just another musical adaptation from the original Broadway show “Dreamgirls” which is based on “the Supremes” career rise in the 60’s and 70’s. I also wondered why Jennifer Hudson was getting so much attention with the American idol 7th place and all. But now I know and understand what all the buzz is about. She totally deserves every bit of attention and praise she’s been getting! And she also deserves her sweep of winning every major(or other) award this year.

The Eddie Murphy we all know is a comic genuis, but who knew he is so talented in drama and musicals ! He sings and acts like you’ve never seen him before. I was floored! Now I understand and agree with everyone who was furious and quite shocked about his Academy award miss.

At the end of the day, it is another movie musical, a version of the already blockbuster hit Broadway hit “Dreamgirls” but what makes this movie special is the life, soul and total star quality Eddie Murphy and Jennifer Hudson bring to the movie. It also portrays very aptly the rude, betraying, cutthroat, conniving side of music business.

I rate this movie 9 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

