Atheism,theism and my rationale – Part 1

So, what exactly is the definition of atheism? Who is a theist? and what’s the meaning of all these other terms connected to this basic question of life?

As a child I was taught and brought up with the belief system of my parents, my culture and my society. My parents taught me and instilled in me what they believed was good for me and what they believed was right based on their wisdom and life experiences. I will be eternally grateful to them for that. I am who I am today, because of what they made me into.

But as I was growing up and now as a grown up, there are times when I re-evaluate this belief system based on my life now and my life experiences. I know I have far many more years to go, but at every turn and point in my life I can’t help but think about what I believe in and who I believe in. I am unable to blindly follow what my society taught me or expects from me.

I believe in two things Science and Nature. Science gives logic, proof, evolution pathways to everything in life. Everything has answers when it comes to science. Nature is more obscure. There are no ‘Why’s’ or ‘How’s’ or ‘When’s’ when it comes to nature. That amazes me.

When I was reading books and researching on this topic, I came across some very interesting definitions:

Who is an atheist? – An atheist is someone who does not believe in any gods.

Who is an agnostic? – An agnostic is someone who does not know whether a god or gods exist.

Who is a theist? – A theist is someone who believes in one or more gods, but usually denies thousands of other gods.

Who is a monotheist? – An atheist disbelieves in all gods. A monotheist disbelieves in all gods, except one.

Who is an apatheist? – An apatheist, or apathetic agnostic, is an atheist or agnostic who does not want to discuss religion, because they do not consider the issue important.

Although these definitions are interesting to read, I don’t want to give a name for my belief. A person’s belief system does not have to fall under a stereotype or premade rules or pregiven names. As I have written about before, for now, my belief is in finding stability, happiness and satisfaction. It’s in finding myself, my inner soul.

I do have more to say about this topic for sure. But this is enough mental exhaustion for today. So more in Part 2 of this blog.

Leave a Reply

